DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare
. Home Home Home
Trusted Resource. Informed Professionals. Healthier Patients.
About dentalcare.ca
Print
 

About dentalcare.ca

dentalcare.ca is the premier website from Crest® Oral-B® for dental professionals and students around the world.  It is specifically designed to provide education, research, news, and product information to help you–and your patients–achieve success every day.

 

The site is brought to you by Crest® and Oral-B®, two of the leading brands in oral care that have united under the umbrella of P&G Oral Health.

CONTRIBUTING EXPERTS

ADVISORY BOARD

Crest Oral-B regularly invites experts from various branches of dentistry to add to the dentalcare.ca knowledge base by contributing an opinion, an article, a study, or a global perspective.  Here are some of the latest contributions:

The dentalcare.ca Advisory Board consists of a renowned group of global educators and practicing professionals who are leaders in the fields of dentistry, dental hygiene, and dental assisting. Meet our Board Members:

  • Jen Blake, CDA, EFDA, MADAA
    Jen Blake

    Dental care

    Jen Blake, CDA, EFDA, MADAA

    Jen Blake graduated from Indiana University School of Dentistry’s Dental Assisting Program.

    Her career as a dental assistant started as a chairside assistant. After receiving her expanded functions training, Ms. Blake became a faculty member at the Indiana University School of Dentistry TEAM Clinic working with senior dental students teaching them how to work with expanded duty assistants in a private practice simulated environment. Jen went on to become an instructor at Professional Careers Institute, an ADA Accredited Dental Assisting Program in Indianapolis, Indiana, and later served as their Program Administrator and Placement Counselor. She is also a past Editorial Director for the Dental Assistant Journal.

    A member of the American Dental Assistants Association, Jen has served all positions in the Indianapolis Dental Assistants Society, Indiana Dental Assistants Association, Sixth District Trustee, Vice President and President-elect to the American Dental Assistants Association. She served as ADAA President from 1997-1998. She is also a past member of the Indiana State Department of Health Radiological Technology Certification Committee.

    Jen is certified by the Dental Assisting National Board, licensed in Indiana in limited dental radiography, and a Master of the American Dental Assistants Association.

    Ms. Blake is currently serving as the ADAA Director of Education and Professional Relations.

  • Anthony Burges, BDS, FRACDS
    Anthony Burges

    Dental care

    Anthony Burges, BDS, FRACDS

    Dr. Anthony Burges graduated from the University of Sydney in 1988 with a Bachelor of Dental Surgery and completed a Fellowship by examination of the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons in 2000. He was appointed a Senior Clinical Associate at the University of Sydney in 1998.

    He has been actively involved with the Australian Dental Association, serving as President of ADA (NSW Branch) from 2007-09 and also currently sits as a Federal Councillor of the Australian Dental Association. He has been involved with the ADA (NSW) education and training centre since 2003, serving as Chairman of the Board in 2007-08 and currently. He is also involved in the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons as member of the Board of Studies in General Dental Practice. Anthony maintains a private general practice in Sydney, Australia with a strong interest in pediatric dentistry, endodontics and implant dentistry.

  • Jared Graham
    Jared Graham

    Dental care

    Jared Graham

    Jared is a dental hygiene student at the University of Cincinnati and is a student member of the ADHA. After graduation in June 2011 he looks forward to working in Ohio and Kentucky.

  • Mary Ann Haisch, RDH, MPH
    Mary Ann Haisch

    Dental care

    Mary Ann Haisch, RDH, MPH

    Mary Ann Haisch is an Assistant Professor in the School of Dentistry at Oregon Health & Science University. She received her dental hygiene education from Clark College, Vancouver, WA and her Bachelor of Science in Health Education, certification in gerontology, and her master in Public Administration from Portland State University. Her areas of interest include the use of technology in dental and dental hygiene education, interactive distance learning, and the use of the Internet for dental continuing education. Ms. Haisch is actively involved in the development of faculty tools to incorporate interactive technology in dental and dental hygiene curricula. She is also involved in the recruitment and retention of dental and dental hygiene students. She holds offices for the American Dental Education Association and is on the editorial board for the Journal of Practical Hygiene.

  • Ryan Hungate
    Ryan Hungate

    Dental care

    Ryan Hungate

    Ryan Hungate is a third year dental student at Indiana University School of Dentistry. Ryan is originally from Kokomo, IN and attended Northwestern High School. After high school he was recruited to play division I golf at Ball State University where he earned a Bachelors degree in Science with a major in Biology and minor in Chemistry. In between getting into dental school and graduating from college, he began to work for a pediatric dentist and also for Apple, Inc. It is Ryan’s goal to combine these two passions. While at Indiana University School of Dentistry Ryan has made possible and promoted the following: Podcasting of all lectures, the use of new mobile technologies for providing patient information in clinic, the IUSD Pediatric Dental Website, the IUSD Student Chapter of AAPD, the IUSD Chapter of Delta Sigma Delta Website, the IUSD Technology & Information Committee, the Indianapolis District Dental Society Website, and Relay 2 Riley. After completing his undergraduate dental degree, Ryan hopes to attend a Pediatric Dentistry Specialty Program and become a Pediatric Dentist.

  • Salme E. Lavigne, RDH, BA, MS(DH)
    Salme Lavigne

    Dental care

    Salme E. Lavigne, RDH, BA, MS(DH)

    Salme Lavigne received her dental hygiene education from the University of Toronto, a bachelor's degree in Biomedical Anthropology from Lakehead University, a Master of Science degree in Dental Hygiene Education from the University of Missouri-Kansas City, School of Dentistry, and is enrolled in PhD studies in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba. She also received certification in Advanced Periodontics and Local Anesthesia from Northern Arizona University and Nitrous Oxide Sedation from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

    Prof. Lavigne has over 30 years experience in Dental Hygiene Education and administration in both Canada and the United States. Currently she is a Professor and Director of the School of Dental Hygiene at the University of Manitoba. She teaches periodontics and local anesthesia to both second year dental and dental hygiene students.

    Prof. Lavigne is the author of many peer reviewed journal articles as well as three text book chapters. She is a popular speaker who has delivered over 50 continuing education and research presentations in Canada, the United States, Scandinavia, China and the Netherlands. She has also held several professional offices, most notably the Presidency of the Canadian Dental Hygienists' Association, served as the Councilor for the Section on Dental Hygiene Education for the American Dental Education Association, and was a commissioner for the Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada.

  • Edward C. M. Lo, BDS, MDS, PhD
    Edward Lo

    Dental care

    Edward C. M. Lo, BDS, MDS, PhD

    Dr. Edward Lo is a Professor and the Director of the Postgraduate Program in Dental Public Health in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Hong Kong. He holds a number of honorary and visiting professor positions in key dental schools in China. Professor Lo has a special interest in oral epidemiology, preventive dentistry and community dentistry. He has delivered a number of invited presentations at major international dental conferences and has written more than 100 scientific journal articles and book chapters. He is a past President of the Southeast Asian Division and is currently the Immediate Past President of the Asian Pacific Region of the International Association for Dental Research.

  • Fridus van der Weijden
    Fridus van der Weijden

    Dental care

    Fridus van der Weijden

    Dr. Fridus van der Weijden graduated in 1984 from the State University Dental School in Utrecht, the Netherlands, where he also received his training as a periodontist and was accredited by the Dutch Society of Periodontology in 1990. He defended his thesis entitled, 'The use of models and indices in plaque and gingivitis trials' in 1993 and received accreditation as a 'senior investigator' by the Netherlands Institute for Dental Sciences in 2000. In 2005 he received accreditation as an 'Implant-specialist' by the Dutch Society of Oral Implantology.

  • John N. Williams, DMD, MBA
    John Williams

    Dental care

    John N. Williams, DMD, MBA

    Dr. John N. Williams serves as the Dean of the Indiana University School of Dentistry a position he has held June 15, 2010. Prior to this time, he served as dean at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry (2005-2010) and the University of Louisville School of Dentistry (1999-2005). Dr. Williams previously served as Associate Dean for Educational Programs at Louisville for over seven years. Dr. Williams served concurrently in the Office of the Provost, University of Louisville (1988-91) as an Assistant University Provost.

INSTANT ANSWERS

CONTACT US

Do you have a question about dentalcare.ca? More than likely, someone else had the same question, and we’ve posted the answer on our Instant Answers page.

VIEW INSTANT ANSWERS
Instant Answers

Want to contact dentalcare.ca? We’d be very interested in hearing your thoughts, comments, and suggestions.

CONTACT DENTALCARE.CA
Contact Us
Congrats

Congratulations!

Based on information in Your Profile, it looks like you’ve graduated. As you transition into practice, we want to keep you informed about new CE courses, promotions, and other resources now available to you as a practicing professional.

So please take a moment to Update Your Profile.

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare
. Home Home Home
Ressource fiable. Professionnels informés. Patients en meilleure santé.
À propos de dentalcare.ca
Print
 

À propos de dentalcare.ca

dentalcare.ca est le premier site Web de Crest® et Oral-B® pour les professionnels et les étudiants des soins buccodentaires de partout dans le monde. Il est conçu pour procurer de l’information sur la formation, la recherche, l’actualité et les produits afin de vous aider, vous et vos patients, à connaître du succès chaque jour.

 

Le site vous est présenté par Crest® et Oral-B®, deux des marques les plus importantes dans le domaine des soins buccodentaires, regroupées sous P&G Soins buccodentaires.

EXPERTS

COMITÉ CONSULTATIF

Crest Oral-B invite régulièrement des experts de divers domaines de la dentisterie à contribuer à la base de connaissances de dentalcare.ca en offrant une opinion, un article, une étude ou une perspective globale. Voici certaines des plus récentes contributions :

Le comité consultatif de dentalcare.ca est composé d’un groupe de formateurs et de praticiens de partout qui sont des chefs de file reconnus dans les domaines de la dentisterie, de l’hygiène dentaire et de l’assistance dentaire. Voici les membres du conseil :

  • Jen Blake, CDA, EFDA, MADAA
    Jen Blake

    Dental care

    Jen Blake, CDA, EFDA, MADAA

    Jen Blake est détentrice d’un diplôme du programme d'assistance dentaire de la faculté de dentisterie de la Indiana University.

    Sa carrière d’assistante dentaire a commencé comme assistante en cabinet. Après avoir reçu sa formation de fonctions étendues, Mme Blake est devenue membre de l’équipe clinique TEAM de la faculté de dentisterie de la Indiana University, et a travaillé avec des étudiants de cycles supérieurs pour leur apprendre à collaborer avec des assistants aux fonctions étendues en environnement simulé de pratique privée. Mme Blake est ensuite devenue instructrice au Professional Careers Institute, un programme d’assistance dentaire d’Indianapolis, en Indiana, accrédité par l’ADA, puis a assumé la fonction d’administratrice de programme et de conseillère en emploi. Elle a aussi été directrice de la rédaction pour le Dental Assistant Journal.

    Membre de la American Dental Assistants Association, Mme Blake a occupé toutes les fonctions à la Indianapolis Dental Assistants Society, à la Indiana Dental Assistants Association et au Sixth District Trustee en plus d’avoir été vice-présidente et présidente désignée de la American Dental Assistants Association. Elle a été présidente de l’ADDA de 1997 à 1998. Elle a également été membre du State Department of Health Radiological Technology Certification Committee

    Mme Blake est agréée par le Dental Assisting National Board, possède une licence limitée en Indiana pour la radiographie dentaire, et détient le titre de Master of the American Dental Assistants Association.

    Elle est actuellement directrice de la formation et responsable des relations professionnelles pour l’ADAA

  • Anthony Burges, BDS, FRACDS
    Anthony Burges

    Dental care

    Anthony Burges, BDS, FRACDS

    Le Dr Anthony Burges a obtenu un baccalauréat en chirurgie dentaire à la University of Sydney en 1988, et a complété des études postdoctorales par examen du Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons en 2000. Il a été nommé associé clinique sénior à la University of Sydney en 1998.

    Il s’est investi activement au sein de la Australian Dental Association, ayant été président de la ADA (division de la Nouvelle-Galles-du-Sud) de 2007 à 2009, et occupe actuellement le poste de conseiller fédéral pour la Australian Dental Association. Impliqué auprès du centre d’éducation et de formation de l’ADA (Nouvelle-Galles-du-Sud) depuis 2003, il siège actuellement comme président du conseil d’administration, un poste qu’il avait aussi occupé en 2007 et en 2008. Il agit également au sein du Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons en tant que membre du comité des études sur la pratique générale en dentisterie. Le Dr Burges opère une pratique privée de dentisterie générale à Sydney, en Australie, avec un fort intérêt pour la dentisterie pédiatrique, l’endodontie et l’implantologie.

  • Jared Graham
    ared Graham

    Dental care

    Jared Graham

    M. Graham est un étudiant en hygiène dentaire à la University of Cincinnati et est membre étudiant de l’ADHA. Après la réception de son diplôme en juin 2011, il espère travailler en Ohio et au Kentucky.

  • Mary Ann Haisch, RDH, MPH
    Mary Ann Haisch

    Dental care

    Mary Ann Haisch, RDH, MPH

    Mary Ann Haisch est professeure adjointe à la faculté de dentisterie de la Oregon Health & Science University. Elle a effectué sa formation d’hygiéniste dentaire au Clark College de Vancouver, Washington, et elle a obtenu son baccalauréat ès sciences en formation des métiers de santé, son certificat en gérontologie, et sa maîtrise en administration publique à la Portland State University. Ses champs d’intérêt comprennent l’utilisation de la technologie en formation dentaire et formation sur l’hygiène dentaire, la formation à distance interactive, et l’utilisation d’Internet pour la formation continue en dentisterie. Mme Haisch s’investit activement dans le développement d’outils afin que la faculté instaure une technologie interactive pour les programmes de dentisterie et d’hygiène dentaire. Elle participe également au recrutement et à la rétention d’étudiants en dentisterie et en hygiène dentaire. Elle est en fonction à la American Dental Education Association et siège au comité de rédaction du Journal of Practical Hygiene.

  • Ryan Hungate
    Ryan Hungate

    Dental care

    Ryan Hungate

    Ryan Hungate est un étudiant de troisième année de la faculté de dentisterie de la Indiana University. Il est originaire de Kokomo en Indiana, et a fréquenté l’école secondaire Northwestern High School. Après le secondaire, il a été recruté pour la division I de golf à la Ball State University, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès sciences avec une majeure en biologie et une mineure en chimie. Entre son acceptation à une école de dentisterie et l’obtention de son diplôme universitaire, il a commencé à travailler pour un dentiste pédiatrique et pour Apple, inc. Son objectif est de combiner ces deux passions. Au cours de ses études à la faculté de dentisterie de la Indiana University, il a contribué à l’implantation et à la promotion : de la baladodiffusion de tous les cours, de l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies mobiles pour fournir de l’information sur le patient en clinique, du site Web de la dentisterie pédiatrique de la IUSD, du chapitre étudiant de la AAPD à la IUSD, du site Web du chapitre de la IUSD de la fraternité Delta Sigma Delta, du comité de la technologie et de l’information de la IUSD, du site Web de la District Dental Society, et de Relay 2 Riley. Après avoir terminé le premier cycle de son diplôme dentaire, il espère suivre un programme de spécialisation en dentisterie pédiatrique et devenir pédodontiste.

  • Salme E. Lavigne, RDH, BA, MS(DH)
    Salme Lavigne

    Dental care

    Salme E. Lavigne, RDH, BA, MS(DH)

    Salme Lavigne a reçu une formation en hygiène dentaire à l’Université de Toronto, un baccalauréat en anthropologie biomédicale à la Lakehead University, et une maîtrise en enseignement de l’hygiène dentaire de la faculté de dentisterie de la University of Missouri-Kansas City, et elle effectue en ce moment des études de doctorat à la faculté de médecine de la University of Manitoba. Elle a aussi reçu un certificat en parodontie avancée et en anesthésie locale de la Northern Arizona University, ainsi qu’en sédation par oxyde nitreux de la University of Missouri-Kansas City.

    La professeure Lavigne compte plus de 30 ans d’expérience en formation en hygiène dentaire et en administration au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle est actuellement professeure et directrice de l’école d’hygiène dentaire de la University of Manitoba. Elle enseigne la parodontie et l’anesthésie locale aux étudiants de deuxième année en dentisterie et en hygiène dentaire.

    La professeure Lavigne est auteure de nombreux articles de revues à comité de lecture ainsi que de trois chapitres de manuel. Elle est une conférencière populaire qui a donné plus de 50 présentations sur la formation continue et la recherche au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Scandinavie, en Chine et aux Pays-Bas. Elle a aussi occupé de nombreux postes professionnels, entre autres la présidence de l’Association canadienne des hygiénistes dentaires, a été conseillère pour la section sur la formation en hygiène dentaire de la American Dental Education Association et membre de la Commission de l’agrément dentaire du Canada.

  • Edward C. M. Lo, BDS, MDS, PhD
    Edward Lo

    Dental care

    Edward C. M. Lo, BDS, MDS, PhD

    Le Dr Edward Lo est professeur et directeur du programme d’études supérieures de santé buccodentaire publique de la faculté de dentisterie de la University of Hong Kong. Il détient bon nombre de titres honorifiques et de postes de professeur invité dans des écoles dentaires importantes en Chine. Le professeur Lo démontre un intérêt particulier pour l’épidémiologie orale, la dentisterie préventive et la dentisterie communautaire. Il a été invité à donner bon nombre de présentations lors de conférences internationales sur la dentisterie et est l’auteur de plus de 100 articles de revues scientifiques et chapitres de manuels. Il est un ancien président de la division d’Asie du Sud-Est, et est le dernier président sortant pour la région de l’Asie et du Pacifique, de la International Association for Dental Research.

  • Fridus van der Weijden
    Photo of Fridus van der Weijden

    Dental care

    Fridus van der Weijden

    En 1984, le Dr Fridus van der Weijden a obtenu son diplôme de la State University Dental School de Utrecht, aux Pays-Bas, où il a également reçu une formation de parodontiste, et il a été accrédité par la Dutch Society of Periodontology en 1990. Il a soutenu sa thèse intitulée The use of models and indices in plaque and gingivitis trials en 1993 et a reçu une accréditation comme « enquêteur sénior » du Netherlands Institute for Dental Sciences en 2000. En 2005, il a reçu une accréditation de « spécialiste en implants » de la Dutch Society of Oral Implantology.

  • John N. Williams, DMD, MBA
    Photo of John Williams

    Dental care

    John N. Williams, DMD, MBA

    Le Dr John N. Williams est doyen de la faculté de dentisterie de la Indiana University, poste qu’il occupe depuis le 15 juin 2010. Auparavant, il était doyen de la faculté de dentisterie Chapel Hill de la University of North Carolina (2005-2010) et de la faculté de dentisterie de la University of Louisville (1999-2005). Le Dr Williams a occupé le poste de vice-doyen pour des programmes éducatifs à Louisville pendant plus de sept ans. Il a également occupé un poste au bureau du recteur à la University of Louisville en tant que recteur adjoint à Louisville (1988 à 1991).

RÉPONSES INSTANTANÉES

NOUS JOINDRE

Avez-vous une question à propos de dentalcare.ca? Il y a de fortes chances que quelqu’un d’autre l’ait posée et que nous y ayons déjà répondu sur notre page de réponses instantanées.

VOIR LES RÉPONSES INSTANTANÉES
Instant Answers

Vous voulez communiquer avec dentalcare.ca? Nous aimerions entendre vos commentaires et suggestions.

COMMUNIQUER AVEC DENTALCARE.CA
Contact Us
Congrats

Félicitations!

Selon les renseignements de votre profil, il semble que vous ayez reçu votre diplôme. Pendant votre transition en pratique, nous voulons vous garder au courant des nouveaux cours de formation con