DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare
. Home Home Home
Trusted Resource. Informed Professionals. Healthier Patients.
Print

Motivational Interviewing: A Patient-Centered Approach to Elicit Positive Behavior Change

Delwyn Catley photo

Dental Care

Dental Care

Delwyn Catley, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology
University of Missouri – Kansas City

E-mail: catleyd@umkc.edu

Although it is widely recognized that patients need to play a central role in maintaining their oral health, there has been increasing recognition in the field of dentistry and dental hygiene that current methods of encouraging patients to change their behaviors are ineffective.  Traditionally dental professionals have relied on educationally oriented methods that are often characterized by one-sided conversations in which the provider lectures the patient and provides recommendations for what the patient should do.  Providers commonly find patients to be unresponsive to such interventions and often become frustrated or dismissive of efforts to change patient behavior.

Consistent with this common clinical experience, a wealth of behavioral science research has now demonstrated that, while knowledge is an essential building block for behavior change, knowledge alone is insufficient. While there are a variety of models of health behavior change, one of the leading empirically supported clinical methods of intervention for fostering motivation for behavior change is Motivational Interviewing.  It has demonstrated efficacy across a wide range of behaviors including alcohol abuse, dietary change, smoking cessation, and treatment adherence.  Importantly, there is also emerging literature that indicates Motivational Interviewing offers great promise for addressing oral health behaviors in dental settings.

The focus of Motivational Interviewing is on working with patients to explore their own particular reasons for making behavior change.  Deemphasizing the importance of providing information and advice, the approach instead has practitioners focus on listening well to the patient’s perspective and encouraging elaboration of any statements oriented toward making a change.  The approach is supportive, interactive, and places ultimate responsibility for the decision to work toward change in the hands of the patient without practitioner disengagement.

While Motivational Interviewing is more involved than simply providing health education evidence indicates that it can be successfully mastered and implemented in brief sessions by health professionals who are not trained counselors.  Research and my experience as a trainer of Motivational Interviewing suggests that practitioners can benefit greatly from training and supervised practice in order to become proficient.  Most importantly, in my experience, practitioners also report far more satisfaction (even joy!) from engaging with their patients in this way once they have achieved some mastery.

Motivational Interviewing is now finding its way into dentistry and dental hygiene textbooks and leading dental schools are beginning to incorporate the approach into their educational curricula.  Hopefully this on-line course will encourage those interested dental professionals and students to begin on their path toward enjoying the rewards of incorporating Motivational Interviewing into their practice.

Congrats

Congratulations!

Based on information in Your Profile, it looks like you’ve graduated. As you transition into practice, we want to keep you informed about new CE courses, promotions, and other resources now available to you as a practicing professional.

So please take a moment to Update Your Profile.

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare
. Home Home Home
Ressource fiable. Professionnels informés. Patients en meilleure santé.
Print

Entrevue motivationnelle : Une approche centrée sur le patient pour obtenir des changements de comportement positifs

Delwyn Catley

Dental Care

Dental Care

Delwyn Catley, Ph.D.
Professeur de psychologie
University of Missouri – Kansas City

Courriel : catleyd@umkc.edu

Bien qu’il soit largement reconnu que les patients doivent jouer un rôle central dans le maintien de leur santé buccodentaire, il est aussi de plus en plus reconnu que les méthodes actuelles d’encouragement des patients à modifier leurs habitudes sont inefficaces. Traditionnellement, les professionnels des soins buccodentaires se sont fiés à des méthodes éducationnelles souvent caractérisées par un monologue où l’on éduque le patient à la façon d'un professeur qui donne un cours magistral et fournit des recommandations sur la marche à suivre. Les fournisseurs de services remarquent que les patients répondent peu à ce type d’intervention et éprouvent souvent de la frustration ou un certain mépris face aux efforts visant à changer leur comportement.

En accord avec cette expérience clinique courante, de nombreuses expériences comportementales ont démontré que, bien qu'elle soit à la base d'un changement de comportement, la connaissance seule est insuffisante. Il existe de nombreux modèles du changement de comportement lié à la santé, mais l’une des méthodes d'intervention clinique éprouvées pour induire la motivation de modifier un comportement est l’entrevue motivationnelle. Elle a démontré son efficacité pour un vaste éventail de comportements, dont l’abus d’alcool, les changements d'alimentation, l’abandon du tabagisme et l'adhésion au traitement. Surtout, de la documentation émergente indique que l’utilisation de l'entrevue motivationnelle pour modifier les comportements liés à la santé buccodentaire dans le cadre de la dentisterie est prometteuse.

L’entrevue motivationnelle consiste à travailler avec le patient afin d’explorer ses raisons d’effectuer un changement comportemental. Diminuant l’importance d'offrir de l’information et des conseils, cette approche veut que les praticiens se penchent plutôt sur l’écoute du point de vue des patients et l’encouragement de toute affirmation orientée vers le changement. Cette approche interactive soutient le patient et met entre ses mains la responsabilité de décider d'effectuer un changement sans désengager le praticien.

Même si l'entrevue motivationnelle est plus exigeante que la simple éducation du patient, les données indiquent que des professionnels de la santé non qualifiés en counseling peuvent la maîtriser et l’implémenter en de brèves sessions. La recherche et mon expérience comme formateur sur l'entrevue motivationnelle suggèrent que les praticiens peuvent vraiment tirer profit de la formation et de la pratique supervisée afin de devenir plus compétents. Surtout, selon mon expérience, les praticiens soulignent beaucoup plus de satisfaction (même de la joie!) face à cette interaction avec leurs patients une fois qu’ils maîtrisent l’approche.

L'entrevue motivationnelle apparaît maintenant dans des livres de dentisterie et d’hygiène dentaire, et les facultés de médecine dentaire les plus importantes commencent à l’incorporer dans leurs programmes d'enseignement. Espérons que ce cours en ligne encouragera les professionnels des soins dentaires et étudiants intéressés à emprunter le chemin menant aux récompenses qu'offre l’intégration de l'entrevue motivationnelle en pratique.

Congrats

Félicitations!

Selon les renseignements de votre profil, il semble que vous ayez reçu votre diplôme. Pendant votre transition en pratique, nous voulons vous garder au courant des nouveaux cours de formation con