DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare
. Home Home Home
Trusted Resource. Informed Professionals. Healthier Patients.
Print

Contributing Expert: A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words: Dental Images Media Library

Teresa Duncan photo

Dental Care

Dental Care

Teresa Butler Duncan, RDH, BS
Instructor, University of Mississippi, School of Health Related Professions, Dental Hygiene Department
MDH Student, University of Tennessee Health Science Center

E-mail: tduncan@umc.edu

The commonly used phrase, “a picture is worth a thousand words”, most likely originated from a Chinese proverb which claimed “one picture is worth ten thousand words.” Whether one or ten thousand words, pictures have a dramatic impact on learning. Pictures function to keep learners interested, assist in comprehension, and convey information not provided by words.1 Educational research studies have proven the superiority of the brain to recall images versus text. Pictures are processed in the imagery system and verbal system: dual coding. This process makes it easier to retrieve information and make cross connections between the two different codes.2

Images, including oral images, can be found in abundance on the internet. However, search time can be lengthy and image quality is inconsistent. Importantly, copyright restrictions are variable and often unclear to the user. Several dental specialty groups maintain media libraries but membership is required for access to the images.

The dentalcare media library now offers open access to over 200 high quality oral images for dental professionals. Images are easily searchable through 25 topic fields. Some of the topics included are: dental caries, periodontal diseases, oral pathology, restorations, plaque, calculus, and oral hygiene products.

Click here to view all clinical images in the dentalcare media library. Clicking on this link will take you to the US site. To search the database:

  1. Click the “Topic” search field to reveal a variety of oral health topics. Select the topic of interest.

  2. Under “Media Type”, select “Images”.

  3. Hit “Search”. You can select any image for an expanded view. Select download to download the image to your computer.

If you want to browse all available images, select "images" in the media type field and hit Search.

We hope you enjoy using the over 200 images currently in the library. Our plans include periodic updates to include additional images as they become available. Please feel free to include any of the images in your lectures or professional presentations. A special thank you goes to the following dental professionals who generously contributed images for this project: Dr. Traci Dellinger, Dr. William Buchanan, Dr. Neeta Mehta, Elizabeth Carr, Dr. Ray Holder, Dr. Rebecca Lang, and Dr. Nancy Williams.

References

1. Carney RN, and Levin JR. Pictorial illustrations still improve students’ learning from text. Educational Psychology Review. 2002 March; 14(1):5-26.

2. Schnotz W. Towards an integrated view of learning from text and visual displays. Educational Psychology Review. 2002 March; 14(1):101-120.

Congrats

Congratulations!

Based on information in Your Profile, it looks like you’ve graduated. As you transition into practice, we want to keep you informed about new CE courses, promotions, and other resources now available to you as a practicing professional.

So please take a moment to Update Your Profile.

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare

DentalCare
. Home Home Home
Ressource fiable. Professionnels informés. Patients en meilleure santé.
Print

Une image vaut mille mots : les médiathèques d’images dentaires

Teresa Duncan photo

Dental Care

Dental Care

Teresa Butler Duncan, RDH, BS
Chargée de cours, Université du Mississippi, École des professions de la santé, Département de l’hygiène dentaire
Étudiante MDH, Centre des sciences de la santé de l’Université du Tennessee
Courriel : tduncan@umc.edu

L’expression couramment utilisée « une image vaut mille mots » provient probablement d’un proverbe chinois affirmant qu’« une image vaut dix mille mots ». Que ce soit mille ou dix mille mots, les images facilitent grandement l’apprentissage. Les images aident à retenir l’attention des apprenants, favorisent la compréhension et communiquent des renseignements qui ne sont pas transmis par la parole.1 Les études de recherches pédagogiques ont prouvé que le cerveau se souvient plus facilement des images que des textes. Les images sont traitées dans les systèmes verbal et d’imagerie : il y a alors un double encodage. Ce processus facilite la mémorisation des renseignements et établit des connexions transversales entre les deux différents codes.2

Les images, y compris les images buccales, sont largement présentes sur Internet. Cependant, la recherche peut demander beaucoup de temps et la qualité des images est inégale. De plus, les restrictions de droits d’auteur varient d’un site à l’autre et sont souvent floues pour les usagers. Plusieurs groupes de spécialités dentaires entretiennent des médiathèques; cependant, il faut en être membre pour pouvoir accéder aux images qu’elles contiennent.

La médiathèque de dentalcare offre maintenant aux professionnels des soins dentaires un accès illimité à plus de 200 images buccales de grande qualité. Il est facile d’y chercher une image grâce aux 25 champs de sujets. La liste des sujets comprend, entre autres : les caries dentaires, la parodontopathie, la pathologie buccale, les restaurations, la plaque, le tartre et les produits d’hygiène orale.

Cliquez ici pour voir toutes les images cliniques de la médiathèque de dentalcare du site américain et suivez les étapes ci-dessous pour parcourir la base de données :

  1. Cliquez sur le champ de recherche « Topic » pour dévoiler les divers sujets liés à la santé buccodentaire. Choisissez le sujet qui vous intéresse.

  2. Dans la rubrique « Media Type », choisissez « Images ».

  3. Cliquez sur « Search ». Vous pouvez cliquer sur n’importe quelle image pour l’agrandir. Cliquez sur « Download » pour télécharger l’image sur votre ordinateur.

    Si vous souhaitez jeter un coup d’œil à toutes les images du site, sélectionnez « Images » dans le champ de type de média et cliquez sur « Search ».

    Nous espérons que les 200 images qui sont actuellement dans la bibliothèque vous seront utiles. Nous souhaitons régulièrement mettre à jour la base de données afin d’y ajouter de nouvelles images. N’hésitez pas à utiliser n’importe laquelle de ces images dans vos conférences ou dans vos présentations professionnelles. Nous désirons remercier les professionnels des soins dentaires qui nous ont gracieusement offert des images pour ce projet : Dre Traci Dellinger, Dr William Buchanan, Dre Neeta Mehta, Elizabeth Carr, Dr Ray Holder, Dre Rebecca Lang, et Dre Nancy Williams.

    Références

    1. Carney RN, and Levin JR. Pictorial illustrations still improve students’ learning from text. Educational Psychology Review. 2002 March; 14(1):5-26.

    2. Schnotz W. Towards an integrated view of learning from text and visual displays. Educational Psychology Review. 2002 March; 14(1):101-120.

Congrats

Félicitations!

Selon les renseignements de votre profil, il semble que vous ayez reçu votre diplôme. Pendant votre transition en pratique, nous voulons vous garder au courant des nouveaux cours de formation con